Sin, Sans, Gluten Free in Paris

2014-06-15 12.41.44

Yes, I am jumping for joy since I managed to completely avoid gluten in Paris, or something like that.

Food matters to me. I have always known that I like food. I like to eat. I like to cook. I like to meal plan. I like to host people. I like gardens.

When I became gluten intolerant, I felt like my enjoyment of food was squashed. But, oh, how I was wrong! Scott mentioned to me over the weekend in Paris that we have had better food since gluten left my diet. It has caused us to be more intentional about what we eat, where we eat, and where our food comes from. When we travel, I research to find “safe” places for me to eat. Lately, I have been especially sensitive to even the smallest bread crumb. Scott used a knife to cut bread, I wiped it off and cut cheese, I got sick. It seems ridiculous, but lately I have stopped sharing butter or even the toaster to eliminate cross contamination.

Needless to say, I was a little nervous about eating in Paris. To the point that for several meals, I happily chose picnicking over eating out. The places I did eat out were well worth it, so I want to share about them for the chance that another person traveling through Paris may benefit. But, I suspect you will find this interesting even if you aren’t planning a gluten-free vacation to Paris.

Over the next couple of days, I will tell you more about our culinary (sans gluten) delights. I know I said one post, but I am pretty sure this is going to take me at least a couple more.

2 thoughts on “Sin, Sans, Gluten Free in Paris

Leave a comment