Yo soy (almost) Catalana.

Thursday was a holiday, so my host family set out early for camping. Since I had to work today, I couldn’t join them this weekend. Well, actually I could go today, but I decided to spend the weekend here.

Also, I decided I am officially a Catalonian because I am choosing to eat at the local meal times, and I woke up at 6:30 without an alarm clock today. I think my body is adjusting. I guess I’m not all the way there yet because I still like to wear a bathing suit top at the beach and I don’t love all things fish.

Today after work I walked around the Passeig de Gracia–the main drag with all the high-end shops and a few famous sites. Here are some pictures from my day:
2014-05-02 02.06.47

The best way to get work done.

2014-05-02 06.44.23

The view from my 10th floor window at my internship.

2014-05-02 06.44.55

My desk at the office.

2014-05-02 06.59.14

A famous Gaudi designed-apartment building, Casa Batllo. Hopefully, we’ll get a chance to tour the inside sometime soon.

2014-05-02 07.02.22

Shops and more shops along the beautiful tree-lined street.

2014-05-02 07.30.35

Plaza de Catalunya

2014-05-02 07.40.57

I packed a lunch and ate it here today. There are lots of pigeons, which the locals call flying rats (or something like that).

2014-05-02 08.25.06

I just liked that this tree was growing oranges.

2014-05-02 08.27.42

My host family told me that they call jeans “tejanos,” which is the word for “Texan,” but I didn’t realize it was quite this official. When I saw the sign in the store, it just made laugh.

It was a beautiful day to be out and about after work, but the streets were really crowded. The next time I go will not be a Friday afternoon, but then again, I actually don’t mind hearing all of the different languages and seeing the fashions of the multitude of tourists, so long as I hold my bag near and dear!

7 thoughts on “Yo soy (almost) Catalana.

  1. Sounds like you are having a good time. Wish I could be there with you. Looks beautiful

    Enjoy yourself. Love you

    Memaw

    • Thanks, Memaw! It has been a great trip so far. I wish you could be here too–you’re a much more experienced traveler than I am and it would be fun to be together! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

