El Camping

This weekend we went camping along the Mediterranean Sea with the snow-capped Pyrenees mountains in the distance! Beautiful–SO beautiful. We went to a camping resort, which consists of campers (RVs) set up in rows/streets. They are set up permanently for spring/summer/fall, and most of the people go camping every weekend to get out of the city and relax. Sometimes it felt like a outdoor enthusiasts’ dream and other times it felt like really good tailgating with a TV outside the camper and tons of food. And, oh, the food! Our lunches both days were huge productions with many courses and so much good food. They lasted about three hours both days (from about 2:30 – 5:30 p.m.). It is a very late lunch, but I do identify with this culture’s habit of a midday snack and mid afternoon snack (except when lunch is so big and long). And, I love that it is normal to have coffee after every meal and throughout the day, but I haven’t warmed up to straight espresso yet. Alas, I am an American that likes “watered-down” coffee. Then, we would eat dinner around 9:30 or 10. Thankfully, on a normal weekday, my host family usually eats dinner around 8:30 or 9.

I apologize for not taking more pictures–I will try to take more the next time I go. Here are a few:

 

2014-04-26 05.29.26

 

We went down to the Mediterranean to see Lidia and Tony put the kayak in the sea to go fishing.

2014-04-26 05.11.26

Above is Albert, Damaris’ mother, and Damaris’ sister. Damaris’ mother is 91 and going strong! Both of her parents came and stayed the whole time (in a cabin instead of the camper). They ae pretty amazing people. Damaris’ mother recited Psalm 23 and 91 from memory and told me about her work with Youth for Christ. Damaris’ father wore a suit the entire time we were camping 🙂 I like them both a lot!

2014-04-26 04.49.24

Raquel’s husband Jordi went snorkeling with a net to fish. We watched him. The weekend before I arrived he caught an octopus, which I got to try on Sunday. It was chewy. Not my favorite but glad I tried it!

On Sunday, I went fishing with Lidia and Tony along the rocks. We didn’t catch anything but we had a good time. We also celebrated lots of birthdays over the weekend, and I gave them Texas barbecue sauce. They tried it, and I think they liked it!

An amazing weekend, to say the least!

7 thoughts on “El Camping

  1. Sounds a little fishy to me! Ha-ha! No fear Scott will be there soon to eat all your fish troubles away. So great to see you twice today and visit. You just so Spanish looking now with your dark complexion and speaking Spanish!

    Love

    MOM

    • I think it is typical to go to bed around midnight and get up around 8. Of course, it varies depending on work schedules. Many people work from around 9-6 or 10-7. I am definitely still adjusting, but I am learning to eat a snack around 11am and 6pm, which is normal culturally.

Leave a Reply

