Chickpeas, Goat Cheese, Parsley, oh my!

I think I’m so aware, but then I get duped.  I bought a different kind of coffee because it was on sale, but come to find out it (and its hidden gluten) is the culprit. Man, it makes me frustrated as my stomach churns and dehydration weakens me. It also forces me to slow down, to think, and to pray.

With the busyness of school and work and life, I usually don’t take the time to simply be. These days this week have caused me to do just that. Be before God. And, I’m reminded in my weakness of His incredible power and provision.

And, He is my provider even when I mess things up or feel messed up.

When nothing sounds good and food seems to be the enemy, it inspires me to make good (and easy) naturally gluten-free things. I just made a salad that literally tingled goodness with every bite. I understand if it’s not your thing. I also understand if you are too scared to try it, but nonetheless, I think you should.

All of these measurements are relative so taste as  you go and adjust accordingly. I started out following a recipe but traded out a few things and added a few things based on what we had, so feel free to do the same!

chickpea & goat cheese salad
(2-4 servings)

1 tablespoon lemon juice (fresh is better, if you have a lemon on hand)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp tahini (optional)

1 can chickpeas (14oz), drained

large handful flat leaf parsley

4 oz goat cheese

handful of raw sunflower seeds

salt and pepper to taste

1. Combine lemon, olive oil, and tahini in a medium bowl.

2. In a skillet over med-high heat, dry roast a handful of raw sunflower seeds until they smell toasty. Turn off heat and let cool down a bit.

3. Coarsley chop the parsley and add to bowl.

4. Add chickpeas, crumbled goat cheese, and toasted sunflower seeds.

5. Mix well and enjoy!

This keeps well in the fridge for a week or so, and it also tastes good cold with chopped hard boiled eggs.  For a dinner with flair, another great option is to heat and serve in roasted acorn squash.

Other things to note: You can replace the chickpeas with pretty much any other canned bean or lentil. Replace sunflower seeds with almonds or even finely diced celery for a nut-free crunch.

Hope your tastebuds tingle too!

4 thoughts on “Chickpeas, Goat Cheese, Parsley, oh my!

  1. Ha! I was literally about to write “sounds yummy,” but then I saw Mallary’s post. It does look really good. And I have some goat cheese I was trying to decide how to use…

  2. It is so wonderful that Jesus always gives just enough strength to push through! Mmmm.. the recipe sounds good! I’ll need to make it soon :). (I’m sorry about the coffee.. it’s crazy that it had gluten in it.)

Leave a Reply

