Have you tried…

Zucchini Bread Granola!

IMG_1839

As a gluten-free girl these days, I try to eat mostly things that are naturally gluten free instead of using lots of supplementary grains and starches, but sometimes you just need a muffin, right? Well, when I’m not there yet, but I still want something sweet instead of savory (like eggs) for breakfast, yogurt and granola is my go-to meal. My recent reading has led me to believe that all grains should be pretty limited, but oats are good middle ground in my mind as I continue to transition away from wheat.

On a totally different topic, Scott and I have been getting CSA boxes every week from The HomeGrown Farm, a local farm. We have had large and delicious zucchini (and all sorts of other great fruits and veggies)! I decided to try out zucchini bread granola when my desire for zucchini bread settled in. Now, to be honest, this tastes pretty much nothing like zucchini bread, but it is delicious and definitely worth a try.

I love that I’m getting a bit of veggies into my sweet breakfast too…even if it’s minuscule, it’s more than my other granola recipes have!

Zucchini Bread Granola

Adapted from Healthy Food for Living

YIELD:  8 – 1/2 c. servings (Let’s be real…this lasted me about 4 mornings with an afternoon snack thrown in one day.)
INGREDIENTS
3 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup very finely grated zucchini (should be very wet)
1 Tbsp canola oil
2 Tbsp pure maple syrup
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
tiny pinch of nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup raisins
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 325° F. Spray a cookie sheet.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the grated zucchini, canola oil, maple syrup, brown sugar, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Whisk until well-combined.
  3. Add oats to wet ingredients. Using your hands, break up the clumps of grated zucchini and stir until the oats are evenly coated. Spread mixture on the prepared cookie sheet in an even layer.
  4. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove sheet from the oven, stir the nuts into the granola, and break up any remaining clumps of zucchini. Bake for an additional 15 minutes, or until the granola is golden brown and crisp.
  5. Remove granola from the oven, cool for 10 minutes, and then toss in the raisins. Cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I have! What are your favorite zucchini recipes?

7 thoughts on “Have you tried…

  1. Hey Savanah!

    I was introduced to a gluten free diet last year because my (then) roommate has a gluten intolerance. But I’m curious, what has led you to your decision to go gluten free?

    • Long story shorter, my stomach started getting upset daily, and I did a cleanse to cut out inflammatory foods. Wheat was the last thing I added back, and when I did, I started getting sick again. I went to the GI doctor and they agreed I have a gluten intolerance. So, now, I eat gluten-free and feel normal!

  2. I had a large zucchini & have never made granola, so I decided to try this. It’s different than I thought & very tasty! I substituted craisins for raisins & will be curious to see what Don thinks. Thanks. Here’s a recipe you may want to try:

    Zucchini Pizza Casserole
    4 c. shredded, unpeeled zucchini
    (or 3 c. zucchini & 1c. shredded carrots)
    ½ t. salt
    ½ c. grated Parmesan cheese
    2 eggs
    2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese, divided
    1 c. shredded cheddar cheese, divided
    1 lb. ground beef (I usually use ½ lb.)
    1 can (15 oz.) Italian tomato sauce (or spaghetti sauce)
    1 medium green pepper, chopped

    1. Place zucchini in strainer; sprinkle with salt. Let stand for 10 minutes. Squeeze out moisture. (I actually squeeze out all water I can & then roll it in a clean kitchen towel & squeeze some more!)
    2. Combine zucchini with the eggs, Parmesan & ½ of the mozzarella & cheddar cheese. Press into greased 13×9” baking dish.
    3. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, cook beef & onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add tomato sauce; spoon over zucchini mixture.
    4. Sprinkle with remaining cheese; add green pepper. Bake 20 minutes longer or until heated through. Yield: 6-8 servings.

    Nutrition Facts: 1 serving = 311 calories, 20g fat, 132mg cholesterol, 754mg sodium, 9g carbohydrates, 2g fiber, 25g protein.

    My family really likes this. You can cut down on the fat grams by using reduced fat cheeses & less beef, which I do. You may add other toppings like a pizza.

Leave a Reply

