I am a lot like Thursdays

I must say that Thursdays have become a highlighted day in my planner. I look forward to finding a soup recipe. I get energized by cooking. I only have one class and a half day of work. I have breathing room.

3564839

I think Thursdays describe my personality pretty well. As an introvert, I get nourishment from quiet time, a brisk walk or a morning run, a day with margin. But, I also love to learn–I fear not learning once I get out of school–and a little time in class gets my brain processing. Still, the component of going to the office and logging some hours in the office is fulfilling to me to give energy to an outside cause. When I finish, I get to ride my bike home as quick as my legs can peddle feeling the rush of the wind and the excitement inside me to get cooking.

4956226

And then. Then, our living room fills with people who have become friends. As we (often) have to squeeze around our table using every chair in our apartment (and usually the cool coffee table bench that Scott built), the bubble of space felt throughout the rest of the day pops into laughter and conversation.

As much as I love the independence of the first half of my day, I love people. I love that they are willing to try whatever I make. I love that they share hilarious stories, past hardships, and present joys. I love that they come sweaty from exercising or straight from work. I love that when the doorbell rings people think its weird. I love that they come in and sit a while with us. I love that there is an us.

Scott and I stepped out uncertain if there would be a response for these soup nights, but there was and continues to be. Today I just kept thinking about how funny it is that Thursdays are the days I feel most up to the Holy Spirit’s ordering and they are the days I feel the most myself. They are the days I feel I thrive. Rest, Work, Fellowship. I think that’s what we’re made for.

“There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God, for apart from him who can eat or who can have enjoyment?” 

Ecclesiastes 2:24-25

2 thoughts on “I am a lot like Thursdays

Leave a Reply

