Some people don’t but I do

As Valentine’s Day approached and the stores exploded with red roses and candies, many people let the dread of Valentine’s day set in. Others like to talk about how it was a holiday created, or at least capitalized on, by the greeting card industry, and somehow that exempts them from recognizing it. Still others take the day as a reason to mope and cry that they don’t have a Valentine–something about Singles Awareness Day.

See, I don’t get it because I think Valentine’s Day is fun and exciting and well, hey, it’s about love. Sure, it can get to be ooey-gooey if you’re dealing with a box of mysteriously-filled chocolates, but in actuality, love’s a pretty pure and great thing. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not promoting giving out teddy bears and chocolate roses–but then again, why pass up chocolate (unless you gave it up for Lent which conveniently started yesterday)? The thing is we should express our love no matter what day it is, but it sure does help to have a day dedicated to it to make us a little more intentional (at least for someone forgetful like me, a bold reminder can be quite useful).

My guess is that people have had bad experiences. That’s usually why we don’t like things, right? We either have a bad taste in our mouth or we just don’t have a clue about it, so we say we don’t like it. Well, here’s my recommendation. Jesus says to, first, love God, and, second, to love your neighbor. I don’t think we show much love to God if we choose to be sad and mopey. So, my thought is maybe we’ve messed up this idea that V-day is more like D-day if you’re single. Perhaps we should stop isolating and start gathering. Then, we could have a better handle on this two part commandment we’ve been given. Together, we can thank God for who He is and for each other.

Growing up, my parents were good about making us feel special on Valentine’s Day–special breakfasts, chocolates, cards, and little gifts. In college, it was always a fun time to hang out with my girl friends–usually we would get dressed up and go out for good food. For the past two years, Scott and I have gotten to spend Valentine’s day by having friends over, and it’s been great! We love God and we love people! And for me, celebrating Valentine’s Day is such a fun way to express that. I know it’s basically over at this point, but the chocolates and cards will still be on sale for several days. So, take the challenge to love on someone, and in it, you love on God–because whatever you do for one of the least of these, you do for God.

In the end, “God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him” (1 John 4:16). Hope you lived in love a little today! If not, tomorrow’s your day, folks!

9 thoughts on “Some people don’t but I do

  1. I LOVE VALENTINES DAY. YOU SHOULD SEE MY SUNROOM WITH FIFTY VALENTINES ON THE WINDOWS AND A TOILET SITTING ON THE FLOOR. WHO CARES I STILL THINK THAT VALENTINES DAY IS SUCH A GREAT BREAK IN THE DEAD OF WINTER. WE WERE INVITED OUT TO THE BEST DINNER WITH A TABLE FUN OF PEOPLE WITH LIKE BELIEVES AFFORDING GREAT CONVERSATIONS AND EVERYONE ONE INCLUDING THE MEN WEARING RED.

Leave a Reply

