Superficial Peace

This morning my husband and I went for an early morning excursion to sit at Starbucks over a buy one get one free drink deal. The deal, as we found out at 6:12 a.m., is only good after 2 p.m. Bummer. But, the upper is that I still had a free birthday drink. As a person who actually loves routine, I was a little thrown off by trying decide what to order, yet I was struck by how freeing it can be to change things up. Scott and I each read a lot and enjoyed a change-of-pace morning. I’ve been trying to find peace and be present since it seems that we’ll be in one place for the whole year, but today my lesson was: don’t get too comfortable.

“It is true that God may have called you to be exactly where you are. But, it is absolutely vital to grasp that he didn’t call you there so you could settle in and live your life in comfort and superficial peace.” Francis Chan 

That’s more jolting than my cup of coffee.

3 thoughts on “Superficial Peace

  1. Savanah, you are a mixture of opposites. You like routine, yet you enjoyed being on the move. Your quate from Francis Chan caused me to reflect of our 60 years of living in one spot. More reflection and I decided that one can stir up many things in that time, and perhaps touch a life or two in a positive way. I certainly hope so.

    • You are so right, Grandma! I feel the tension of so many things I enjoy. I agree, and I hope so too. I think for you two that is a given–from my limited knowledge, I know you’ve impacted countless lives!

Leave a Reply

