Over the Holidays

Growing up, I remember sitting down and writing out goals for the new year. I’m not sure when I started, but I continued this practice through college. My dad modeled different ways to set achievable goals in every area of life. This year, I am a bit behind the curve…seeing as we are nine days into the new year and I haven’t finalized my goals! Though I have only made a rough list of goals for the year, I have enjoyed reflecting on God’s faithfulness in the last year. Over the next few days, I will share the details of our thankfulness for the Father’s abundant love to us this year.

But, first, I will share the highlights of the last couple of weeks of traveling lands.

FORT WORTH: We bookended the journey with time at my grandma’s house close to Fort Worth. We ate great food and drove around to look at lights. And, she graciously served as our airport shuttle.

CHICAGO: On Christmas Eve and Christmas day and a couple days after, Scott and I spent time in Chicago with my sister Candace and her family. It was such a fun time together! We especially enjoyed the time with our niece and nephews, who all had roles in the Christmas Eve play at their church (see below: the baby Jesus, a sheep and an angel).

IMG_8720

We had fun being with them as they opened gifts on Christmas morning…

IMG_8841

which was also, surprisingly, the first snow of the winter in Chicago.

IMG_8842

And, we loved meeting and snuggling with our new nephew, Simeon Thomas.

IMG_8856

MENTOR, OH: We spent just over a week at Scott’s parents house where we got to soak up time with his parents, sister, and brother-in-law, uncle and cousin, and grandparents. While we were there, Scott’s sister and brother-in-law renewed their vows. It was such a meaningful ceremony.

IMG_8973

We had a big meal afterwards to celebrate! You can see the replica of the top tier of their wedding cake in the background.

IMG_9026

We bundled up and walked out in the wintry weather — quite a bit of snow actually!

IMG_1781

The Landerholm family but they were missing Mark (Scott’s brother).

IMG_1787

Scott’s grandparents came all the way from North Dakota!

IMG_1802

WOOSTER, OH: My dearest college friends gathered for just over a day. We got to ring in the new year together and catch up after too long apart.

IMG_1794

What a joy to be with so many people that we love!

2 thoughts on “Over the Holidays

Leave a Reply

