Scott’s Saddle Story #11

My second to last day down at the farm, Thursday, we had a truck coming in at 6:00 a.m. to take some cows. The cows going on the truck were about 2 miles away from the corral, and we needed to get them to the corral, branded with our selling mark, and weighed all before the truck got there. Chele said we needed to have our horses saddled and ready to go by 5:00 a.m. in order to get the cows to the corral in time.

My alarm went off at 4:20, and I jumped out of bed knowing I had no time to spare in order to be ready with my horse at 5 o’clock. During this time of the year in Honduras, the earliest signs of dawn don’t arrive until 5:10, but once it comes, it comes quickly and is completely light by 5:45. So at 4:40 when I was headed down to the farm, it was completely dark. The day before when Chele told me to be ready at 5 o’clock, I was excited about the challenge of finding my horse in the dark, but it wasn’t until I found myself in complete darkness walking to the farm that I began to worry about what was ahead. It hit me at this point that darkness never seems like it will be that bad when you are in the light, but when you find yourself in the dark, there is an overwhelming sense of disorientation.

I went to the barn, pulled out my saddle and bridle, and headed down to the field my horse is kept in. Thankfully for my flashlight, I found the gate into the field and searched the field without tripping; however, that is all my flashlight helped me with. I searched the 300 X 200 yd. field in deep concentration listening for any sound and looking for any dark object that could only be seen when it was inches in front of my face. After fifteen minutes of hard looking, I found the bull, white horse, and its colt that are kept in that field but not my horse.

I looked at my watch…4:59. I was to be ready in less than a minute, and I couldn’t even find my horse. I ran back to the barn close to where Chele kept his horse and yelled for Chele although I couldn’t see him. I explained the problem and we both took off back to the field in search for my horse (me on foot and Chele on horseback). We searched hard only to find nothing, and by now, it was 5:15. There was one other horse Chele rides so he went to get that one. By now a hint of light was emerging so Chele was able to quickly get the other horse. We switched out saddles and headed out for the cows.

On the way back to the corral 45 minutes later, I was reflecting on the morning events. The morning was a great example to me of how when we try to find Truth in the darkness, it is impossible to find. I was thinking that when I returned to that field in the Light, it would be so simple to spot my horse. People in Honduras, the U.S., and the rest of the world search for hope and meaning in life in drugs, alcohol, sex, wealth, fame, success in a career, etc. I was reflecting that many people look for Truth in those places but instead they just find darkness.

As I made the final turn to the corral, both Chele and I looked at each other and started laughing because about 50 feet from where I saddle up my horse at every day was my horse standing grazing in the grass. I was laughing to myself as I realized even more so the spiritual truth behind this. When you look in the Light, there is Truth. Not only do you find Truth in the Light, you realize He was right there next to you the whole time. The horse must have been there all morning long as I ran by him five different times, but because of the darkness, I found nothing. Isn’t that like Jesus? We can look everywhere for Him, but we won’t find him in the darkness. But when we finally look in the Light, we will see He was there the whole time waiting for us to come to Him.

On this Thanksgiving Day, I am so thankful for the time Savanah and I had in Honduras sharing light and truth with the people of Honduras. What a joy it is to walk in the Light. Please continue to pray for the people in Honduras as well as for those in Ireland that we will be with this upcoming winter and spring.

John 8:12 “When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.’”

One thought on “Scott’s Saddle Story #11

Leave a Reply

