Scott’s Saddle Story #10

Our three months in Honduras is quickly approaching an end. I have spent much of my time working down at the farm doing a variety of things as well as working other places around campus as needed. The experiences working here are very different than many I have had in the U.S. I have kept a list of how working in a third-world country is different from the U.S.

Here is a list of ten differences:

1. It is ordinary see a group of boys in a field or on a hillside chopping grass with their machetes.

2. When spraying pesticides on the crops, we do not use a crop duster. Instead, we walk up and down the fields with a five-gallon container spraying the field ourselves.

Here is Chele with a container spraying for insects on the cows, but the same concept and container is used for the fields.

3. When planting crops or fertilizing, we wrap a sack around our shoulder that has a hole in the bottom of it. Out of the hole is a PVC pipe that then extends to the ground. We walk in a straight line up and down the fields emptying the sack through the PVC pipe to give us exact precision.

                 

4. I was helping some boys clear a hillside of tall grass one afternoon. A 12-year-old boy had to show me how to correctly cut the grass with my machete.  His name is Daniel.

5. As long as I can remember, I was told not to run with scissors, and I agree this is a good idea. However, there have been times here when Chele and I have been out fixing fences or other things, and we have needed our machetes. At times we have even had to run with our horses while carrying our machetes (Mom, you really did teach me well).

6. Chele and I have spent hours fixing fences in fields. Instead of going with an auger and already made 4X4 posts, I use a good old fashioned post-hole digger while Chele makes homemade posts out of the tree branches closest to us using his machete.

7. We have had to at times fix parts of the irrigation system. It does not seem to be improper to strip down to your underwear and jump in the water even without the proper clothing attire. Honestly, it’s a good excuse to cool off from the sun.

8. Combines are washed at the local river.

9. I have never seen the janitors in the states have as much fun doing trash pick-up as the boys do around here.

10. Listening to music with personal iPods and MP3 players while working has a different twist down here.

I want you to know that I am not complaining about these experiences at all. They have been extremely enjoyable, rewarding, and thought provoking.

At least one more saddle story to come…

2 thoughts on “Scott’s Saddle Story #10

Leave a Reply

