Screen Door on a Submarine

I feel kind of out of words lately. I think it has something to do with saying goodbyes and preparing for the next thing. I also believe that there is only space for so many words in a given period of time–which is somewhat debatable in this Latin American culture where people talk despite the fact that someone is already talking. Anyway, I feel like when the word limit is reached, I have no words left for talking.

When I have little to say, I read. And, more times than not, other people say things way better than I could myself.

In a book called Life-Style Evangelism by Joseph C. Aldrich,  he talks about bridging the credibility gap as Christians, in other words, living what you believe. He illustrates it beautifully:

“Christians are to be good news before they share the good news. The words of the gospel are to be incarnated before they are verbalized. Let me put it another way. The music of the gospel must precede the words of the gospel and prepare the context in which there will be a hunger for those words.

“What is the music of the gospel? The music of the gospel is the beauty of the indwelling Christ as lived out in the everyday relationships of life. The gospel is the good news that Jesus Christ has solved the problem of man’s sin and offers him the potential of an exchanged life, a life in which the resources of God Himself are available for his transformation. And as the gospel is translated into music, it makes redemptive relationships possible. When the world observes husbands loving their wives, and wives supporting and caring for their husbands and families, they have seen a miracle; they have heard the music. It is miraculous music for which many of them are longing.”

This is one of the primary lessons I have learned while being in Honduras. I have come to this point when language triumphs over me and when the only thing that translates is my actions.

Rich Mullins put a little more pizzazz in the point, “Faith without works is like a song you can’t sing. It’s about as useless as a screen door on a submarine…”

2 thoughts on “Screen Door on a Submarine

  1. Can’t believe I just copied down a rich mullin’s quote. In missing you in my life, I seem to have become more like you ha ha.

Leave a Reply

