Chocolate Chip Cookie Catastrophe

One of the main things I miss most here in Honduras is, well, chocolate. We brought some cocoa powder with us, so we can make brownies and chocolate cake, but nothing compares to a melt-in-your-mouth solid piece of chocolate (I guess the heat keeps inevitably-melty chocolate from being very popular). And, in Scott’s mind, nothing compares to a melt-in-your-mouth chocolate chip cookie.

While we were dating, I tried countless times to make Scott his all time favorite dessert…chocolate chip cookies. Time and time again, I made terrible chocolate chip cookies–they were cakey or hard or biscuit-like. They were just never good. For the first time, this summer I finally made some good chocolate chip cookies when Scott visited Arkansas. (I think the trick is to follow the recipe, in case you were wondering–not try to make them healthy like I tend to do.)

So, anyway, when a much-anticipated care package arrived earlier this week with a bag of chocolate chips in it, I knew the pressure was on. I had to make GOOD chocolate chip cookies because I only had one chance.

We’ve been waiting for the perfect night this week to have them, and tonight was the night.

After a mere seven minutes in our fast-cooking oven, I smelled that they were ready, and decided to pull them out. As I grabbed plates and utensils, my assistant darted over to divvy out the cookies. He sweetly picked me out the two with the most chocolate, and then began to get his. I grabbed my plate and cup and headed toward the table, thinking about if they were going to taste good or not when I heard, “oh no, oh no, oh no.” I looked over to see Scott squatting and squirming. I thought the cookie sheet was falling or had fallen, but it was still on the stove top. And, then, I saw it, a cookie had fallen off the spatula, broken over the handlebar of the stove, and landed on the ground in two pieces with part of the gooey middle oozing around the handle. Before I could even respond, Scott was on the floor grabbing the beloved cookie pieces and throwing them in his mouth. I just stopped, stared, and then busted into laughter.

But, as you can see from the picture, the cookies turned out good because we licked our plates (and the floor) clean!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Catastrophe

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookies are my favorite as well! I can just see Scott snatch up the fallen cookie in desperation! Glad they were a success and as yummy as you had hoped! You will have to ask for Grandma Doris’ CCC recipe, it is my favorite!

  2. It was great to come to the computer first thing in the morning and see you had posted. It was so much fun to read and visualize in my mind.

  3. Dad read this with me, but didn’t want his named signed to my last post. He said it was pitiful. I told him all my posts were bad because I can’t write, but at least I post. HA HA!!!! Hope you know I try!!!! Of course, Dad was just teasing.

Leave a Reply

