And the rain came down…

At college when it rained, my eyebrows furrowed as I threw on my yellow rain jacket, pulled back my frizzy hair, slipped on my rubber shoes, and reached for my once again missing umbrella (which I probably left somewhere on campus). Classes and meetings and errands across campus were going to exist whether it rained or not. So, the rain was just annoying.

Just a month and a half ago, when we got married it rained after our wedding during part of our reception, which was sweetly followed by a rainbow. Many people came up to me that night and encouraged me with their positive attitude toward the rain. “Did you know that in the Bible rain is often a blessing?” My thoughts about rain began to shift. I felt like the rain was a physical symbol of the Lord’s presence at our wedding.

My attitude toward rain is so different here in Honduras. I love rain here. Rain is refreshing. If I see the clouds in the distance or hear a roll of thunder, I almost subconsciously begin praying for the Lord to bring the rain. Rain brings relief. Relief from heat, mainly, but I it brings relief from routine too. It keeps me from getting stuck in my daily duties and errands and puts things into perspective. When it rains here, it usually doesn’t rain for long, so everyone just pauses and revels in it while it lasts.

Yesterday was a sweltering day. After spending some time taking pictures for the school in the hot afternoon sun, I was really hot. I ate ice, took a cold shower, laid on the bed under the fan, but I was still hot. My annoyance with little things was rising with the temperature, and I just felt frustrated and sad. But, then I heard it…thunder in the distance.

And “the rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock” (Matthew 7:25).

Two morals of the story:

  1. Rain brings relief and refreshment.
  2. Jesus brings the rain.  If we believe in him, we can recognize Him in the rain and revel in His presence.
One thought on “And the rain came down…

  1. Dear Scott and Savanah, Thank you for sharing you days, stories, pictures and revelations. Your time in Honduras looks amazing and I am sure they all appreciate you being there! I just signed up to get the email updates from your blog and look forward to hearing more from you. The wedding picture above is absolutely beautiful! Can’t wait to see more of them, especailly since we could not be there. It is raining here in Michigan, and I have heard it is pouring in Ohio as well. We all need to remember your 2 points above, Savanah. Scott, hope the leg is healing well. Keeping you both in our prayers as well as the people you serve. Love, Sharon and Bruce

Leave a Reply

