Total Reliance

As I sit at our dining room table staring out the window at the sunny Honduras landscape, I realize that God has provided so much for us to be here. After preparing lunch and sticking it back in the fridge, I am waiting on Scott to get back from his long morning at the farm. I spent the morning in the school offices working on familiarizing myself with the school’s child sponsorship program.

The past couple of days we have been working on making this empty, five-bedroom house feel a little more like our home.  (This house used to be used for work teams coming through, hence why so many rooms.) I suppose every lady thinks about making her home feel welcoming and warm, but since being here, I have perceived that our personalities provide the hospitality and, in Honduras, the weather takes care of the warmth.

More and more, this process of coming to Honduras has been a release of stuff for me. It has not been much of an issue in my life before now, but as we live more and more modestly, I realize my tendency to seek things to fix a problem instead of total reliance on the Lord to provide.

In Matthew 6, Jesus tells us to not be anxious that he provides for the birds of the air and the lilies of the field, so how much more will he provide for us.

With the limited provisions we were able to bring with us and the generosity of the people here, Scott and I definitely have all that we need. And though I feel like we have very few things, we actually have more than we absolutely need to get by. God is using this time to prune my reliance on stuff, conveniences, and even other people. He is opening my heart to further trust in Him.

2 thoughts on “Total Reliance

Leave a Reply

