Preparation

Tomorrow is my last day of work at Jefferson Title Company (in Arkansas). It has been such a learning experience as I have entered the realm of real estate, deeds, mortgages, taxes, liens, and loans.  I feel like I have been prepared for buying house and tackling the paperwork in closings. And, all of a sudden, my time at this job is ending. It is honestly mind boggling to think that in just over three weeks Scott and I will be filling new roles in Honduras. And in just ten days, Scott and I will be starting our life together as husband and wife.

This summer we have been regularly preparing for the wedding in some way or another. But, amid the lace and buttons and ribbon and tulle, I have begun to realize how much more God is at work preparing me (and Scott) for not only wedding or the next year in missions, but also a life of marriage and ministry.

One day, I wrote in my journal, “God this is all so great, but I don’t know if I can handle this much stuff at once, even if it is good stuff.” And with this summer of preparation coming to an end, some days I feel overwhelmed. Thankfully though, God is patiently teaching me –a repeated lesson it seems– to trust Him one step at a time.

An all-time favorite verse comes to mind, bringing with it a helpful dose of peace…

Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” Psalm 37:5

5 thoughts on “Preparation

  1. Hi Savy!
    I am so happy for you and your (very) soon to be husband! Our prayers will be with you as you start this new phase of your life.
    Lindsey

  2. Love you, sis. Can’t wait for life to slow down for you and for you to finally be Scott’s wife after so much time and distance.

Leave a Reply

